Mentionable Characters-Part 2

Due to all the requests and feedback on the previous post, I think a part 2 is definitively is order! If you haven’t read my part 1, this is basically characters I love in a film or book, that I think the world can not live without. To read my part 1 click here.

1. Aragorn-Lord of the Rings

My ultimate, all time favourite character in Lord of The Rings. He is such a brilliant character as he was not once judgmental. He never once cared who was a hobbit, or even a dwarf. He is loyal to his oath to Frodo and the Hobbits. How ridiculously good is his fighting? Apart from almost being trampled by some troll, he is so good at defending himself, that he never seems to ever even almost die (awkward sentence alert). I can think of no one better in the films to have become King of Middle Earth.

“Hold your ground, hold your ground! Sons of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers! I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of woes and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth…”

2. Henry Detamble -The Time Traveler’s Wife

A friend recently lent me this book and I thought it was really well written. First of all, Henry is a time Traveler involuntarily. He was born with the ability to time travel, but with no control over it, and can not bring any possessions with him; including clothes. This means he has had to have learnt how to steal, pick pocket and pick locks. Oh and his religion is running.

“Chaos is more freedom; in fact, total freedom. But no meaning. I want to be free to act, and I also want my actions to mean something.” 

3. Éowyn-Lord of the Rings

What is it with me and Lord of the Rings? Éowyn is just absolutely epic, because not only is she just a strong woman, but she sure can fight. She never once misses a fight, despite her uncle (Theoden, the King) desperately trying to protect her. She is kind and amazing to all, protecting her own father to the very end and pretending to be a man just to go into battle. What more can I say?

“I fear neither death nor pain.” Éowyn said, not looking at him but slamming her sword back into it’s sheath. “What do you fear, my lady?” Aragorn asked softly. Éowyn stood slowly and looked him the eye. “A cage. To be held behind bars until I am usless and old age accepts me.”

4.Fred and George-Harry Potter

Fred and George Weasly are jut awesome because they are where most of the laughter comes from. They are sneaky, but are always positive and tend to help Harry out…a lot.  The are well know for their mischievous behavior and pranks throughout the school, as well as eventually owning their own joke shop. They are always ready to make a joke, even when one of them has his own ear chopped off!

You haven’t got a letter on yours. I suppose she thinks you don’t forget your name. But we’re not stupid — we know we’re called Gred and Forge”

5. Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games

What I find so great about the way that The Hunger Games have been written, is that Suzanne Collins balances the thoughts and emotions of Katniss, with all the action of The Games. Katniss is always having to make difficult choices and survive under pressure. She has no trouble hunting, finding food and water, and generally surviving. She is incredible with a bow and arrow, and I think she is brilliant.

“At some point, you have to stop running and turn around and face whoever wants you dead.The hard thing is finding the courage to do it.” 

Note: Many credits to Tanitha for letting me “borrow” tones of her Éowyn quotes and pictures. To read her awesome post on Éowyn, click here.

2 thoughts on “Mentionable Characters-Part 2

Leave a Reply

