Daughter of Mine

I’m eternally stuck here. Stuck forever in this godforsaken mirror. He’s trapped me here, the Time Lord, beautiful and yet so, so terrible. He visits my solitary world once a year, at least I think it’s a year. Time has no meaning here, nor use. Every year he comes, his eyes filled with sacrifice and suffering that he has endured. A glistening pocket watch dangling from his fingertips. I hate him. And yet when I’m alone, I miss him the most.

The girl in me is beginning to surface. I am no human, yet the echo of a girl still exists in my consciousness. She tortures me with images of her parents and siblings. A world filled with a family, a husband and children she will never have. Claws into my mind faces of her tearful parents she will never see. But she is my only company. I can not hate her.

My Asphodel, my everlasting Purgatory.

I will always be there. The darting shape in the corner of your eye when you search for more in the mirror. That agonizing flash of red, that sends paranoia sweeping through your mind; my balloon.

I am the girl in the mirror.

Note: This is based on a Doctor Who episode (because I’m so darn cool)- Human Nature and The Family of blood. It is based on the young girl:

“He still visits my sister once a year, every year. I wonder if one day he might forgive her but there she is, can you see? He trapped her inside a mirror, every mirror. If ever you look at your reflection and see something move behind you just for a second, that’s her. That’s always her.”

2 thoughts on “Daughter of Mine

  1. I love the fact that theres a girl inside her head, “The girl in me is beginning to surface.” It makes it more of a fight, like she’s fighting to keep her mind her own. I also love her mixed opinions of the Doctor: “I hate him. And yet when I’m alone, I miss him the most.”

    And of course, “That agonizing flash of red”. LOVE it! Brilliant description 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

