The Fault in our Stars

For those of you who may remember I wrote a pre-book post on what I hoped The Fault in our Stars would be like (you can read it here). Anyway, I recently finished reading the Fault in our Stars by John Green and if I could sum it up in one word (or three) it would be…pretty darn awesome. His book incredibly funny, and yet it’s mixed with streaks of sadness and loss. This particular book is told from the viewpoint of Hazel, who happens to be his first female protagonist, and he did an amazing job of telling her story right the way throughout the book.

The story begins with Hazel Grace, a sarcastic, yet funny and witty girl who has terminal Lung Cancer. Her daily week would consist of 3 college lessons a day, support group lessons and worrying about how her parents will cope with her upcoming death. Life for her is pretty monotonous. A couple of times a week she attends support group in “The literal heart of Jesus” as their cheesy group leader would tell them every week. Yet emerging from the dull routine, her half blind friend brings along with him another terminal friend: Augustus Waters. Augustus, although diagnosed with a serious cancer, has had no re-ocurences within the last year, and appears perfectly healthy, and he pulls hazel away from her boring routine of her life before death.

This book is so wonderfully unique in so many ways, John Green being a completely individual writer and creatng brilliantly full characters. One of my favourite scenes is when the two of them try to sell the garden swing by creating an advert for it:

“Headline?” he asked.
“‘Swing Set Needs Home,'” I said.
“‘Desperately Lonely Swing Set Needs Loving Home,'” he said.
“‘Lonely, Vaguely Pedophilic Swing Set Seeks the Butts of Children,'” I said.”

I could give you hundreds of reasons why I love this book so much, and all his other books that are just filled to the brim with awesomeness. But I suggest to you to read this book. Like now. Go out to your local book store and purchase this copy, and you will not regret it. I had high hopes for this book, and I think it deserved every one of those hopes I had had for it pre-release. I hope you leave this Post with a little more knowledge on the works of John Green, and I hope you enjoyed my little review.

3 thoughts on “The Fault in our Stars

Leave a Reply

