Silent Lights

I hate driving at night.

The truck shudders violently, shaking my arms and wrists, forcing me to grip the wheel tighter and tighter. Cold seeps through the gaps of the windows that creak and complain over the bumpy country roads. It’s nightime now, and the darkness is thick and plentiful, pressing in on the rickety truck. The dim headlights flicker pitifully as they attempt to slice through the black surroundings, yet the inky darkness continues to hang in the air.

Eyelids closing, I drop my head to rest gently on the wheel, sending earthquakes up my spine. I know I should pullover, yet I still haven’t found what I’m searching for. With much resistance  I pull open my eyes. I don’t want to hit a deer, or any other animal that wonders the country lanes at night. A small rabbit cuts into my headlights before freezing with terror and streaking away into the fields that slide into the dark.

A figure seeps into the darkness. The outline is precise and solid, like that if a paper dolls.I cut the engine and the world plunges into silence. Despite the cold, the figure does not shiver, nor do their clothes move in the icy breeze. I have found what I was looking for

Sliding out the seat and onto the muddy floor, I head into the light to join the unknown.

Picture it and Write

3 thoughts on “Silent Lights

  1. I loved the simile of comparing the silhouette to that of a paper doll. Nice! I love your beautiful descriptions. They’re delightful. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write, Rosikifish.

    – Ermisenda

  2. I love this! The first line is great because it’s short and captures your attention. I love the ending because it’s so mysterious. The creepy inky darkness gave me the shivers. Great story!

Leave a comment